Astamangala The Eight Auspicious Signs


Astamangla The Eight Auspicious Signs

Material: Brocade

2 in stock

SKU: 2010461 Category: Tag:


Astamangala The Eight Auspicious Signs

Material: Brocade

Höhe: ca. 95 cm; Breite: ca. 16 cm

Gewicht: 110 g


The white parasol, the two fish, Sankha, Dhavaja, Srivatsam, Kalasa, Padma, and Chamaru are Astamangala, also called the eight auspicious, winning symbols.
They are often depicted all together or individually in wood, stone, metal and as a portrait and are a frequently used motif. It is said that these gifts are from heavenly beings that were given to the Buddha Sakyamuni to achieve his enlightenment.
The parasol is supposed to protect against bad temptations, the two fish symbolize salvation from the ocean of misery of worldly existence, and the white shell promises the grace of turning to the right and with its buzzing sound, the proclamation of the victory of the saints. Dhavaja, the banner, symbolizes the victory of Buddhism, and Srivatsa, the endless knot or the mystical diagram, symbolizes the endless cycle of rebirth.
Kalasa, the vase, the vessel of all spiritual values, also contains the Amrita, the water of immortality. Padma symbolizes purity and Chamaru symbolizes the tantric manifestation and is originally made from the hair of the yak tail, which is decorated with silver jewelry. Chamura is used for recitations and for fans.
These eight auspicious signs are usually exhibited at Vrata ceremonies, but also for the dedication of buildings. For the famous fire ceremonies, these signs are depicted on paper, on clothes, or on metal.

Additional information

Dimensions 16 × 95 cm


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Rate us on Trustpilot