Astamangla The Eight Auspicious Symbols


Astamangla The eight auspicious symbols

Material brocade fabric

2 in stock

Delivery time: 2 bis 3 Tage

SKU: 2010462 Category: Tag:


Astamangla The eight auspicious symbols

Material brocade fabric

Height: approx. 95 cm; Width: approx. 16 cm

Weight: about 110g


The white parasol, the two fishes, Sankha, Dhavaja, Srivatsam, Kalasa, Padma and Chamaru are Astamangala, also called the eight auspicious, victorious signs.
Often depicted all together or individually in wood, stone, metal and effigy, they are a common motif used. It is said that these gifts are from heavenly beings given to the Buddha Sakyamuni to attain his enlightenment.

The parasol is said to protect against bad temptations, the two fish symbolize salvation from the ocean of misery of worldly existence, the white shell promises the grace of turning to the right and with its humming sound, the proclamation of the victory of the saints. Dhavaja, the banner, symbolizes the victory of Buddhism and Srivatsa, the endless knot or mystical diagram, symbolizes the endless cycle of rebirth.

Kalasa, the vase, the vessel of all spiritual values, also contains the Amrita, the water of immortality. Padma symbolizes purity and Chamaru symbolizes the tantric manifestation and is originally made of yak tail hair adorned with silver jewelry. Chamura is used in recitation and fanning.

These eight auspicious signs are usually displayed at vrata ceremonies, but also to consecrate buildings. For the famous fire ceremonies, these signs are represented on paper, on clothes or on metal.

Additional information

Dimensions 16 × 95 cm


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Rate us on Trustpilot